My 60th Birthday! #60cards60days

Standard

With my 60th birthday approaching, I decided to challenge myself to make 60 cards in 60 days.  The actual day of my birth is March 2, and I am genuinely excited about turning 60! I am proud to say that every ache, pain, grey hair, and wrinkle was hard earned. I am proud of who I’ve become, and I am proud of the wisdom I’ve gained in 6 decades. I am excited about what life still has in store for me. A dear friend of mine told me that God promised her that the last third of her life would be the best third of her life! I believe God still has great things in store for me!

My grandma’s mind was still sharp right until she passed away in her 90s, and my Mom does not look anywhere near 80 years old. Mom and I have interesting conversations about current events everyday, so I expect my brain to work well for many years to come! I try to learn new things everyday and I make a point of working on a few logic puzzles or playing a few different types of solitaire games daily to keep my brain sharp. I am so blessed with family, friends, and other gifts from God, that my life is rich in many ways. I have little money, but money does not bring me much joy. Laughter, love, friendship, and sharing bring me joy. My biggest joy is the joy I get from a close personal relationship to God, of course!  I relish time spent with any of my family, whether it is in person, texting, email, or social media.

Sure, I spend a little too much time on Facebook, Pinterest, TV, etc., but it keeps my mind off my physical ailments, it inspires me to create, and keeps me in touch with people I love. I confess, I’ve been in a slump over the past two months. The first anniversary of my husband’s death was Nov. 29, and until two weeks ago, I was struggling. Now, I am feeling better. and ready to take advantage of those feelings and anxious to try out some of the new products in the Stampin’ Up! Spring catalog! I am planning my annual Stampin’ Up! Birthday party that I give myself every year! So far, I am a little ahead of the game because I’ve already made several cards over the past week.

DAYS 4, 5, and 6       #60Cards60Days

Anyone who knows me well, knows Cobalt Blue is one of my favorite colors, so I couldn’t resist combining the Beautiful You Stamp Set (143637 Clear Mount/ 143004) with one of my favorite sets of Designer Series Paper-Floral Boutique 141663.

wp-1483933503302.png

I stamped the images with Stazon Black Ink 101406 on Whisper White Cardstock 100730. I use a Night of Navy Classic Ink Pad 126970 and a Blender Pen 102845 to color in the image. I cut out the image and a piece of Night of Navy card stock 100867 with Oval Framelit Dies 141706 on my Big Shot machine 143263. It would also look nice if you cut rectangle shapes with your Stampin’ Trimmer. I added a few Rhinestones 119246. I love all the greetings that come with this stamp set. When I add a greeting, I measure the stamp, cut a piece of Whisper White cardstock just a little bigger than the stamp, and I cut a piece of Night of Navy cardstock 1/4″ longer and 1/4″ wider than the Whisper White. For example, On the “Life Looks Beautiful on You” greeting, the White cardstock is 1″ X 1 3/4″ and the Navy cardstock is 1 1/4″ X 2″

 

About highdesertblue

My blog is a potpourri of topics, artwork, and crafts. I am an Independent Stampin' Up! Demonstrator, and I love teaching people how to make something beautiful for someone they love. I might post other craft and arts once in a while. I enjoy Zentangle Inspired art, drawing, and watercolor, crochet, bookfolding, and more. I live in the beautiful high desert (altitude 4250) of Arizona surrounded by family and friends. II do not mind if you borrow my ideas, but please do not represent my original work as your own. If you use my tutorials, you may share them with your friends or customers, but please include my website on any that you print out. My Pinterest page is https://www.pinterest.com/klspeer1/, my Facebook page is Kristy's Stamp and Create. My stampin' Up! website is http://kristyspeer.stampinup.net

Leave a Reply

